Business fraud takes several forms, from employee theft and accounting manipulation to fraudulent payment instructions and deceptive business opportunities. Recent figures from the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (ACFE), the FBI Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3), and the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) show both the scale of reported losses and the different ways fraud reaches an organization.
Contents
- Recent occupational-fraud losses
- How occupational fraud is detected
- The internal schemes with the highest losses
- Business email compromise and recovery
- Cyber-enabled fraud reported to the FBI
- Consumer-facing business and opportunity fraud
Recent occupational-fraud losses
ACFE’s Key Findings from Occupational Fraud 2026: A Report to the Nations recorded more than $3.4 billion in losses across the occupational-fraud cases analyzed. The median loss was $104,000 per case, while the average exceeded $1.4 million. These are case-study measurements, not an estimate of the average loss for every business.
The frequency and severity of schemes differed substantially:
- Asset misappropriation appeared in 90% of the cases.
- Corruption appeared in 45% of cases.
- Financial-statement fraud appeared in 6% of cases, but its median loss was $1 million per case.
Detection speed also mattered. Schemes detected within six months had a median loss of $40,000. Schemes that lasted more than five years produced median losses above $1.1 million. The comparison indicates why early reporting channels, review procedures, and attention to warning signs are important leadership responsibilities. ACFE, Key Findings from Occupational Fraud 2026
The earlier ACFE 2024 study provides a separate view of investigated cases from an earlier period. It covered 1,921 cases investigated from January 2022 through September 2023 across 138 countries and territories, with $3.1 billion in calculated losses. Certified Fraud Examiners estimated that organizations lose 5% of revenue to fraud each year in that report. That 5% figure is an estimate, while the case totals describe the investigated cases in the study. ACFE, Report to the Nations: Organizations Lost an Average of More Than $1.5M Per Fraud Case
How occupational fraud is detected
In the ACFE 2024 study, a typical occupational-fraud case lasted about 12 months before detection. Tips were the detection method in 43% of cases, making reporting systems a central part of a fraud-control environment. Employees supplied 52% of tips, while vendors supplied 11% and customers supplied 21%.
The people involved were not limited to repeat offenders. Eighty-seven percent of perpetrators had never previously been charged or convicted for fraud-related offenses. At least one behavioral red flag appeared before detection in 84% of cases. The study also reported that 74% of perpetrators were male and 69% were ages 31–50. These descriptive figures concern the perpetrators in the studied cases; they do not establish that demographic traits cause fraud.
Loss distribution was uneven. The median loss was $145,000 per case, the 75th-percentile loss was $750,000, and 22% of cases caused losses of at least $1 million. That spread helps explain why a median can be useful for planning while still understating the exposure created by a smaller number of very large cases. ACFE, Occupational Fraud 2024: A Report to the Nations
The case outcomes also show what happened after discovery. Sixty-eight percent of perpetrators were terminated by their employers. Among cases referred to law enforcement, 72% resulted in conviction. These are outcomes reported in the ACFE case study, not a forecast for every investigation.
The internal schemes with the highest losses
The 2024 ACFE data distinguishes between broad categories and specific scheme types. Financial-statement fraud was reported in 5% of cases and had a median loss of $766,000. Corruption had a median loss of $200,000, while asset misappropriation had a median loss of $120,000.
| Scheme type | Share of cases | Median loss |
|---|---|---|
| Financial-statement fraud | 5% | $766,000 |
| Corruption | Not stated in this comparison | $200,000 |
| Asset misappropriation | Not stated in this comparison | $120,000 |
| Check and payment tampering | 11% | $155,000 |
| Billing schemes | 22% | $100,000 |
| Noncash-asset misappropriation | 22% | $66,000 |
| Expense-reimbursement schemes | 13% | $50,000 |
| Payroll schemes | 10% | $50,000 |
| Skimming | 10% | $43,000 |
The largest median loss in this set belonged to financial-statement fraud, even though it occurred less often than billing or noncash-asset schemes. Check and payment tampering had a $155,000 median loss and occurred in 11% of cases. Billing schemes and noncash-asset misappropriation each occurred in 22% of cases, with median losses of $100,000 and $66,000 respectively. Expense-reimbursement and payroll schemes each had a $50,000 median loss, while skimming had a $43,000 median loss. ACFE, Occupational Fraud 2024
The data supports a practical distinction for leaders: frequency and financial severity are different risks. A common, lower-median-loss scheme can still create persistent administrative and cash-flow damage, while a less frequent reporting scheme can create a much larger single event.
Business email compromise and recovery
The FBI recorded 21,442 business-email-compromise (BEC) complaints in 2024, with reported losses of $2,770,151,146. The FBI’s longer BEC series recorded 305,033 domestic and international incidents and $55,499,915,582 in exposed losses from October 2013 through December 2023. Within that period, U.S. victims accounted for 158,436 complaints and $20,089,561,364 in exposed losses. Non-U.S. victims accounted for 6,546 complaints and $1,638,490,375 in exposed losses.
The geographic counts do not represent all global incidents. The FBI reported BEC in all 50 U.S. states and 186 countries, with more than 140 countries receiving fraudulent transfers, through December 2023. Identified global exposed losses increased 9% between December 2022 and December 2023.
Recovery activity shows the importance of speed after a suspected fraudulent transfer. The IC3 Recovery Asset Team logged 3,020 complaints involving $848.4 million in attempted theft in 2024. It froze $469.1 million across 2,651 domestic complaints and $92.5 million across 369 international complaints. The team reported a 66% success rate for its 2024 financial-fraud recovery actions. FBI IC3, 2024 IC3 Annual Report
The FBI’s BEC figures are complaints and reported or exposed losses, not a census of incidents. They should therefore be read as indicators of reported exposure rather than a complete measure of every business email compromise.
Cyber-enabled fraud reported to the FBI
IC3 recorded 333,981 cyber-enabled-fraud complaints and $13.7 billion in losses in 2024. Cyber-enabled fraud represented 38% of IC3’s complaints and 83% of its reported losses. IC3 also received 263,455 cyber-threat complaints with $1.571 billion in reported losses.
Several complaint categories illustrate the range of threats facing organizations:
- Phishing or spoofing: 193,407 complaints in 2024.
- Extortion: 86,415 complaints in 2024, compared with 48,223 in 2023.
- Employment: 20,044 complaints in 2024, compared with 15,443 in 2023.
- Data breaches: 3,204 complaints in 2024, compared with 3,727 in 2023.
Critical-infrastructure organizations filed 4,878 cyber-threat complaints with IC3 in 2024. The five most reported ransomware variants in IC3’s 2024 critical-infrastructure data were Akira, LockBit, RansomHub, FOG, and PLAY. The IC3 report notes that its ransomware loss figures exclude business-interruption and remediation costs, so reported figures do not capture the full operational effect. FBI IC3, 2024 IC3 Annual Report
Consumer-facing business and opportunity fraud
Fraud aimed at consumers can also affect businesses through deceptive offers, impersonation, online selling, and investment promotions. The FTC logged 130,075 reports in its Business and Job Opportunities category in 2024, equal to 2.01% of all Sentinel reports. That category had a 36% reported-loss rate, $751 million in total reported losses, and a $2,250 median loss.
Other FTC categories provide context for the customer-facing environment:
- Imposter scams: 845,806 reports; 22% reported a loss totaling $2.952 billion, with an $800 median loss.
- Online shopping and negative reviews: 383,441 reports; 76% reported a loss totaling $432 million, with a $130 median loss.
- Investment-related fraud: 118,960 reports; 79% reported a loss totaling $5.697 billion, with a $9,196 median loss.
Across all FTC fraud reports in 2024, 2,600,678 reports were recorded. Of those, 987,520, or 38%, indicated a loss totaling $12,537,194,708. Bank transfers or payments were linked to $2.089 billion in reported losses, the largest total among the listed payment methods, while cryptocurrency was linked to $1.417 billion.
Contact channels also varied. Email appeared in 25% of FTC fraud reports with a contact method supplied; those reports showed $246 million in losses and a $180 median loss. Website-or-app contacts appeared in 16% of reports with a contact method and were associated with $1.858 billion in reported losses. These percentages use only reports where the relevant field was supplied.
FTC Sentinel figures are unverified consumer reports, not a survey of all fraud. They are useful for understanding reported patterns, but they should not be treated as a complete prevalence estimate. FTC, Consumer Sentinel Network Data Book 2024